Passion & Curiosity: Farewell to CEP 812

One of the most prolific thinkers of our time, an expert on hyperconnectedness even before such a phenomenon surfaced, The World is Flat author Thomas Friedman suggests that successful human beings will no longer simply be those with high intelligence. Indeed, “It will also be those with more P.Q. (passion quotient) and C.Q. (curiosity quotient) to leverage all the new digital tools…to not just learn but to relearn for a lifetime” (2013).

An encouraging thought for educators. Public education of children has long centered around creating cogs in a wheel- workers who will possess basic knowledge and by whom industries will be well-served. However, our reality (thankfully) is changing. I am encouraged by the knowledge that my students will grow up in a world that values not only intellect, but also the elements that have been so prevalent in solving the problems of practice in this course: curiosity and passion- critical thinking, problem solving, innovation, collaboration, resourcefulness, ambition, tenacity, heart.

Truly these are the new textbooks, pencil holders, flashcards, and clocks. They are forces that drove me to teaching -some days against my better judgment, as inevitably the wicked problems studied in this course rear their ugly heads- but they are also what keep me there. They are gifts, really, someone gave me- in kindergarten, in second grade, in seventh, tenth, and university. And they are gifts I work to give my students each year.

It will be hard to leave these courses behind.  I am deeply thankful to have learned that educational technology is not really about technology, but about teaching and learning. It is about selecting the very best tools that will accomplish one’s purpose and teaching students to learn and to think. For the culmination of my time in the educational technology certificate program, I wanted to create something that reflected those gifts. I hope that this multimedia presentation illustrates the curiosity I desire my students to cultivate, as well as the passion I have for teaching them using the best resources available. Perhaps the way I feel about the work, time, energy, and resources that have fueled my work in this program is exactly what I would want my students to say: It was worth it.

 

References

Friedman, T. L. (2013, January 29). It’s p.q. and c.q. as much as i.q. The New York Times, p. A27. Retrieved from

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/30/opinion/friedman-its-pq-and-cq-as-much-as-iq.html?_r=0

 

Leave a Reply

